Our aim is for the children to learn through play. Each preschool session is carefully planned to encourage the children to take part in a wide variety of stimulating, imaginative and fun activities, thus enabling each child to develop to his/her full potential.

All settings which work with young children have to, by law, follow the Early Years Foundation Stage. This sets the standards for the learning, development and care of children in their settings.

Within this framework is the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum which is followed by all settings and schools until the end of reception. It is designed to support key learning skills such as listening, speaking, concentration, and working and co-operating with other children. It is also about developing early literacy and numeracy skills, which will prepare children for the next stage of their education.

As of April 2017, there are seven identified areas of learning and development that shape the educational programme that we provide.

Three of these areas are seen as particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive; these are known as the Prime Areas of learning and are as follows:

Communication and Language development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.

Personal, Social and Emotional Development involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and have confidence in their own abilities.

Physical Development involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

The remaining four areas are known as Specific Areas of learning. Through these areas the three Prime areas are strengthened and applied. They are:

Mathematics involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces and measure.

Expressive Arts and Design involves enabling children to explore and play with a range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role play, and design and technology.

Understanding the world involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.

Literacy development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems and other written materials) to ignite their interest.

“Every child matters”

This is legislation designed to support and protect children up to 19 years of age. It means that all organisations who provide services to children, whether they be schools, hospitals, voluntary groups, children’s homes etc., work together to ensure that all children get the support they need to:
• Be healthy
• Stay safe
• Enjoy and achieve
• Make a positive contribution
• Achieve economic well being

More information on the EYFS can be found online: https://www.gov.uk/early-years-foundation-stage